Uniquely and Wonderfully Made

BREAKING NEWS: God made you who you are for a reason!

 

 14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.- Psalm 139:14

 A couple of weeks ago I discovered a web site called Taaz.com that allows you to do virtual makeovers. It was a lot of fun! I could change my hair color, style, length, makeup…everything. I got a kick out of giving myself longer hair and big eye lashes and laughed hysterically when making over some of my friends.

Before

 

After

Soon though, something started to happen. I started to feel bad about myself. I was looking at the before picture thinking I used to think this was a good picture of myself and yet after I had added lashes, covered up my under eye circles and added blush, I could no longer see the beauty in the before picture…now all I could see was my imperfections.

Men and women of GOD, this is NOT what God wants for you! We are bombarded with this kind of thing everyday. All you have to do is open a magazine to see a man or woman who has been airbrushed beyond recognition and yet some of us are striving everyday to attain the perfection that those in the magazines can’t get without Photoshop.

10 For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand that we should walk in them. -Ephesians 2:10

Don’t you know that you are uniquely and wonderfully made by the ONE whose beauty can’t even be expressed in words or beheld with the human eye?!  God has made us all in His image!  That means you are perfect just the way He made you! YOU are beautiful in His sight!

This doesn’t just pertain to physical beauty either. God has created you in His image, which means that he has made you with your own set of unique talents and gifts. Some of us think that if our gift doesn’t land us on TV or the cover of a magazine, that we need to help God. Please understand this, God does not make any mistakes. He has equipped you with gifts that no other human being can duplicate or take from you. You have God-given purpose and only you can fulfill the duty that God has given you! God is not going to help you to be anyone other than who He has created you to be.  We have got to stop looking at other people and coveting their lives. Wanting their car, their house, their career. Did it ever occur to you that maybe the reason they have all they do is because they have stepped  into the shoes of the person that God called them to be and God has rewarded them for it? Well?

34Then Peter opened his mouth, and said, Of a truth I perceive that God is no respecter of persons – Acts 10:34

 God is no respecter of persons! That means God does not show favoritism or partiality. If He can do it for them, He can do it for you! But, you have to be striving to be the person He meant you to be. Sure, you can try to be someone else, but you probably won’t get very far, and will most likely be completely exhausted and miserable in the process. I don’t know about you, but I would rather be the most underdeveloped version of the person God made me to be  any day than the best imitation of someone else.

There is nothing wrong with taking pride in your appearance. Our bodies are our temples and we should take care of them. BUT if you can’t walk out of your house without a full face of makeup or you are constantly comparing your life to someone else’s, it is time to do a self-check. Start looking at yourself through God’s eyes. The best way to do this is to get into His word and study. Then you will start to see yourself the way God sees you…a beautiful man/woman of God who is uniquely and wonderfully made!

Smile! You are beautiful!!!

 

glitter text
Today I am thankful that my father in Heaven thinks I am beautiful even if no one else does. Cause really thats all that matters.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rahwa
    May 12, 2011 @ 22:01:01

    AMen. Love the message. I love love love this song by India. She is da truth! I will post this vid on my fb. Awesome song choice!

    R

    Reply

  2. eden
    May 13, 2011 @ 00:32:25

    this is awesome :)

    Uniquely and Wonderfully Made that you are sis!!

    TO GOD BE THE GLORY!

    father I thank you for my beautiful sister!

    b e a u t i f u l
    b e a u t i f u l
    b e a u t i f u l

    Reply

  3. Regina
    Sep 24, 2012 @ 23:35:18

    So well written and so beautifully said! Agree totally :D so many are deceived and focus on outward beauty… when all that really matters is what’s within :D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

