Unwritten

Hey everyone! So today, as I was driving to work, I heard a song on the radio that I have not heard in a long time, and I was instantly reminded of the days that I would roll down the highway, with the windows down, bumping this song and singing at the top of my lungs! What can I say, Natasha Bedingfield’s Unwritten just made me feel good! Ahhh, good times! If you’ve never heard it (you must have been living under a rock, 😛 ), here it is! Note: This is actually the acoustic version which I am really digging, so many of you may not have actually heard this one!

Aside from the fact that Natasha has a gorgeous voice, I love this song because of the message it gives! In it, she encourages her listeners to live their lives to the fullest! Too often in life our days are just…ho hum! We get up, go to work, run errands, eat and sleep only to get up and do it all over again. One day blurs into the next and we find ourselves just existing, but not really living. Not really enjoying our lives!

Well I, for one, am tired of it! I am tired of living a hum drum life where everyday just melts into the next! I’m just TIRED! The message in this song is that we, and we alone, have the power to change the plot of our story. Do I believe that everything happens for a reason? Absolutely! But I also know that everyday we make choices, and those choices shape the person we  are and the person we will become. So why don’t we start making choices that will empower us! Choices that will fill the pages of our days with learning and excitement! I truly believe that everyday should and can be an adventure!

The face of a person living a monotonous life! (This will change!)

The face of a person living a monotonous life! (This will change!)

I think the first step in making this happen, though, is to become very clear on what we want our story (life) to look like. So, in an effort to flesh out my outline, I have decided to make a vision board.  For those of you who don’t know, a vision board is simply a collage of pictures and words that depicts what you want your life to look like! Christine Kane, author of one of my favorite blogs, has a great post on how to make a vision board…check it out! She tells you everything you need to know and even gives you great suggestions on supplies!

Once I’m done, I will post a picture of my vision board. In doing this, I am making myself accountable to my readers to start implimenting a plan to make my vision board become reality. A vision is nothing without action! If you are like me, I encourage you to make a vision board as well! Stop being the sidekick in your story and become the lead act! There is no risk! At the very least you will gain a little perspective on what you really want your life to look like!

Just think about it…wouldn’t it be great if everyday we woke up excited about the day ahead of us, knowing that this day won’t be like the last, but just as thrilling?! That is what I am ready for…won’t you come with me!

Glitter Text Generator

Today I am thankful for the awareness of a hum drum life and the motivation to do something about it!

P.S. I’m asking for a little participation in this post…In the comments please post a reply to the following: If you could choose anything (and you can!) what would be the title to the book of your life?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. beautylogicblog
    Jun 20, 2009 @ 20:21:40

    the title of my book would be “Achieve your Dream no matter what!” I’d teach others on the power of following your goals. I’ve had a vision board for a while. It’s amazing, and I highly recommend everyone should have one.

    Reply

    • Melanie
      Jun 22, 2009 @ 03:39:03

      that is an awesome title! perseverance is key! people, must realize that they are going to fall down, but they just have to get back up and never give up!

      Reply

  2. Charlene
    Jun 21, 2009 @ 17:51:36

    I have no idea what I’d call my book, but I’ve been toying with the idea of the vision board too! i should really try it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

