Starting With The WOman in the Mirror!!!

Yesterday, the world lost a legend. Michael Jackson was a musical genius! Many of us grew up with him! I was supposed to marry him! I’m deeply saddened by the news, but I am taking solace in the fact that his music lives on! So  much of MJ’s music was inspiring! One of my all time favorites is “Man In The Mirror”

Even at such a young age, Michael was insightful! This song embodies the old saying “Be the change you want to see in the world”! Which,  brings me to the meat and potatoes of this post.

I think a lot of people, especially 20 somethings like myself who are transitioning into “real life”, are getting stuck! By stuck, I mean that we are allowing ourselves to wait until the circumstances are perfect before we attempt to do anything! The problem with this is that the circumstances will NEVER be perfect! If people waited around all the time for the ideal situation, nobody would ever accomplish anything and nothing would ever get done!

The fact of the matter is, life is too short to be waiting on lofty goals of perfection to start living our lives! We have got to stop being so afraid of failure that we never try anything. If you are stuck, it is time for change! And who better to start with than yourself! Give yourself permission to fail! It is in our failures that we learn the most…and these life lessons eventually lead us to our success! Stop putting off applying for your dream job! Stop putting off telling that special person that you love them! You may not get another chance…tomorrow is not promised!

If you wanna make the world a better place, take a look at yourself and make a…CHANGE! Woo, Woo NA NA NAH, NA NA NAH, NA NAH, NA NAH!

Glitter Text Generator

Today I’m thankful that even in this time of sadness and sorrow over this tragic loss, MJ’s message lives on!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. I TAKE OFF THE MASK
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 19:49:03

    Michael Jackson’s message lives on because he is a man who is familiar to our sadness, to feelings of being different and alone even in the midst of a crowd. He also shows us how to fight on despite all our failures and frustrations.

    Reply

    • Melanie
      Jun 27, 2009 @ 00:45:06

      Absolutely! I think that is why this loss hurts so much! MJ wasn’t just some celebrity…he was just like us! We could see ourselves in his pain and his struggles AND in his light! It’s really weird…I never expected that I would be so affected by the passing of MJ (not that I ever imagined it), but he has been such an inspiration to me and I am choosing NOW to Live, Love, and Think Golden!

      I’m really digging your blog btw! It is fantastic! Linking you now!:-)

      Reply

  2. Mischo Beauty
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 21:07:00

    Great post, Melanie! Life is too short to keep putting things off to tomorrow… and yes, Michael’s music will live on forever…:)

    Reply

  3. Charlene
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 00:44:04

    I’m still jamming to MJ girl….i’m still so hurt!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

