Don’t You Know Who You Are?

Don’t you know who you are? We already know that God commands us to forgive one another as He forgives us. But another thing that many people struggle with is forgiving themselves. Too often people are living in condemnation because they have done something wrong, said something they shouldn’t have said, treated someone unfairly etc. We reason (most of the time unconsciously) that if we feel really bad about something for a really long time that we are atoning for our sins. Please understand, God does NOT want this for you!

4 We were therefore buried with him through baptism into death in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead through the glory of the Father, we too may live a new life. -Romans 6:4

Christ has given us new life! God does not want us living in condemnation. Now when we sin, He wants us to recognize our sin, repent of our sin, and turn away from our sin, but he does not want us wallowing in the guilt of our sin. Guilt is not of God but a ploy by the devil to keep you defeated. As long as the devil can keep you living in that misery, it will keep you away from the glory and the promises of God. While you are sitting around disgusted with yourself, God is wondering when you are going to let it go…cause he already has. In fact, not only has He let it go, He has forgotten it completely. Once you repent, God does not remember your sin. If He can let it go…why can’t you? His word tells us that when we  become saved, we become new creatures.

17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here! -2 Corinthians 5:17

New Creatures! This means we think differently, speak differently and act differently. We no longer conform to the world but are made a new creation by His mercy and His grace. Make no mistake, beating yourself up for your past mistakes does NOT glorify God. It only keeps you from experiencing the goodness of the Lord, and that was never His plan. Don’t let the devil steal the joy that is available to you.

3 He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds. -Psalm 147:3

Let God heal you. Believe that when God says he forgives your sin, He wipes your slate clean. You don’t have to live with it forever…you are made clean by His blood! If you have never been saved and would like to have eternal life with God, I invite you to say this prayer with me:

Lord, I recognize that I am a sinner. I believe that you were born of a virgin, that you lived a sinless life, that you died on the cross for my sin and that you rose again. I repent of my sin and I turn away from it. Lord, come into my life and make me a new creature. I love you and I thank you for your mercy and your grace.

9 If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord”, and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. 10 For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you profess your faith and are saved. -Romans 10:9-10

If you prayed this prayer with me and belive it in your heart, I believe you have been born again. Rejoice! You have been made new!

glitter text
Today I am thankful that I know who I am and whose I am.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Eden Melissa
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 11:23:14

    this is beautiful my sister, To God Be The Glory Amen Amen Amen
    thank you

    Reply

  2. Melanie
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 15:10:16

    Thank you sis! To God be the Glory!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

